Shouting out D.C. pretty easy, believe me


D.C.

MP3. ABC.

It’s an easy city name to rhyme. Certainly more versatile lyrically than words like Washington or the District. Hell, it rhymes with any word that contains a hard “E” sound. It’s also a big city with a lot of hip-hop heads. These factors combine to make D.C. a mandatory shout out for rappers doing one of those bridges, choruses or intros where they just big-up random large American cities.

I apologize for making you physically ill so early in the morning. From Wikipedia.

I apologize for making you physically ill so early in the morning. From Wikipedia.

Classic example, Lil’ King’s “Lighters Up”:

Now put your lighters up (Bed-Stuy)
Put your lighters up (New-York)
Put your lighters up (D.C.)
Keep putting your lighters up (Philadelphia)

Right after New York! That is quite an honor. Jeezy gets a little more specific, highlighting our local soundtrack on “Circulate“:

See I’ma start off so slow, yeah I said so slow/They love me out in D.C. just like go-go

Ditto Bun B’s “I Git Down For Mine” (off the excellent newish “Trill O.G.”, an album that should be named after the even more excellent T-pain dripping single, “Trillionaire”):

Poppin’ like the po-po/word to my D.C. &$*#@$ on go-go

Biggie’s “Warning” gets even more granular, shouting out a neighborhood better-known for Not Being All It’s Cracked Up To Be, not crack rock:

They heard about the pounds you got down in Georgetown/And they heard you got half of Virginia locked down

Of course, Jay-Z basically goes out of his way to avoid saying D.C. on “Izzo (H.O.V.A.)

Fo shizzle my nizzle used to dribble down in VA/Was hurtin’ in ’em in the home of Terrapins/

What, no big ups to Bethesda?

Like most things, we can agree that natives do it best. I leave you with Whitefolkz’s “I Heart DMV,” which is too underground to even have a Youtube video (but here’s a link to the mixtape):

And R.I.P. Ben Ali/I never ate a chili dog but I’m so D.C.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

