What the hell are you talking about: Rick Ross


In approximately 10 years of activity on the hip-hop scene, I still come across lyrics that I sing along to yet have no idea what they concern. The latest in a sordid saga…

Rick Ross thinks he might be Big Meech, the alleged leader of a huge drug ring. The wordplay is breathtaking! From Wikipedia.

Rick Ross thinks he might be Big Meech, the alleged leader of a huge drug ring. The wordplay is breathtaking! From Wikipedia.

In Ricky’s banger, B.M.F. feat. Styles P (aka Blowing Money Fast, but also a play on Black Mafia Family, a multi-state drug distribution ring, more on that in a second), Ross continues his drug-dealer braggadocio that still sounds natural despite the revelation he is in fact, a former prison guard.

The chorus, which floats over the already-soaring Lex Luger beat, starts:

I think I’m big Meech, Larry Hoover/whipping work, halleluiah

Big Meech seems to be an alleged leader of B.M.F. who was closely associated with some hip-hop acts. And my boy Larry Hoover is an alleged leader of the Gangster Disciples gang.

With that in mind, let me translate the chorus for you:

I think I’m a drug dealer, and/or gang leader

This is an example of thinking less of a song once you analyze the lyrics behind it. Let us never speak of this again.

This entry was posted in Actual reporting, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What the hell are you talking about: Rick Ross

  1. DABIGDOG says:

    “All I got was diabetes and a damn hug”
    -Rick Ross

    He’s the Walt Whitman of our generation

  2. B-Money says:

    What does that make Soulja Boy?

  3. DABIGDOG says:

    Maybe its the Maine in me but I’m saying Longfellow.

Leave a Reply

